Old New Zealand


l-r Karel Van Bergen, Chris Orange, Jed Town, James Pinker

Jed Town (Guitar) Chris Orange (bass) Karel Van Bergen (vocals) James Pinker (drums)

Features formed in late 1979 when Jed Town and James Pinker formerly of The Superettes teamed up with Chris Orange (The Terrorways) and Karel Van Bergen (The Primmers). The song "City Scenes", the first release on Simon Grigg's new Propeller Records label made it to #32 on the singles charts.

Jed Town moved to Australia late in 1980. He formed Fetus Productions initially with James Pinker and Karel Van Bergen. Pinker moved to the U.K. where he played with Dead Can Dance and Jesus and the Mary Chain. Van Bergen also moved on to the U.K. where he joined John "Atrocity" Jenkins (formerly of Proud Scum) in The Band of Holy Joy.

Two songs appear on the Flying Nun/Propeller Records re-release of Ripper Records classic punk compilation AK79.


21 Jun 1980 (7") Perfect Propeller Records REV 1 #32
City Scenes/Secret/Police Wheels

01 Dec 1980 (12") The Perfect Features Exposed Propeller Records REV 6
Victim/Party/Here We Come/Mirror

1993 AK79 (Various Artists) Flying Nun Records - FNCD279/Propeller Records - D31083
Two songs: City Scenes/Victim

2009 (CD) X-Features Sawtooth Records

More Video Links

City Scenes
Helter Skelter

Audio Links

General Links

Audio Culture - The Features